Love, Mommy

Letters, thoughts and musings for my girls

Mini Me

on April 19, 2013

Dear C-

From nearly your very first breath, I was hearing how very much you resemble your father. You undoubtedly have his clear blue eyes (which is great, because they’re stunning!), but you also had his rounder face and similar profile. However, as you get a little older, not only do you start to look a little more like me, but there is no question that you are your mother’s daughter. At 2.5, you display so many characteristics similar to my own and I quite regularly feel like I’m dealing with a mini me. Here are a couple of things that we already have in common:
1. You LOVE to read. You might very well outgrow this some and that’s ok, but I never did. I read a little from my book of choice nearly every day and you do too. You quite often would rather sit quietly and read a book instead of jumping in the middle of the activities.
2. You’re a watcher. It is very uncommon for you to jump into the common childhood fray of running, jumping, and playing without thoroughly evaluating your surroundings. I watch you as you watch other children, evaluate every scenario and only then cautiously decide to join in. Even once in full play mode, you will regularly check to make sure your father or I am near. I was like this as a girl and am still like this today. I like to plan and have as much information as possible before committing to an action.
3. You’re a bit antisocial. And I don’t mean this in a bad way, but you aren’t one to follow the leader if you don’t want to. By that same token, you show little interest in being the leader. You are very comfortable doing whatever it is that you want to do and others can partake or not as they choose. Fortunately or unfortunately, this is just like your mommy.
4. You love chocolate, having your toenails painted, a well fitting ‘pretty dress’ and good accessories. I am fully aware that these are all things that can change over time, but for now….it gives us plenty in common!
It’s fascinating to watch you grow and change every day, to develop your own personality, but still see the similarities between us (and, yes, sometimes your father too!). I could not be happier to have the most wonderful little mini me.

C and mommy

Love,

Mommy

One response to “Mini Me

  1. Ana says:

    Love her and her sweet personality!

Leave a Reply

